ISY & Java 11

CPRail1

I've needed to update my Java to version 11 for reasons unrelated to the ISY due to a Java based suite of tools I use for other things whose developers are requiring Java 11 instead of Java 8

In doing so, my direct ISY launcher no longer works and while I can access my ISY through Firefox, I cannot access the admin console, stating Jave 2+ is needed.

It would seem the most likely issue is that while I have Java 11 installed and working fine with the non-ISY suite of Java based tools, I've missed a step or something that I need to do to have the ISY's related links find the Java 11 installation. I am by no means an expert here so any advice welcome.

The Java 11 install was done by uninstalling JAVA 8, restarting, and then installing the Windows 64 bit,  *.msi version of https://www.azul.com/downloads/?version=java-11-lts&package=jre of Java 11.

I'm running 5.3.4 . With no other issues, by the way, very stable.

Any advice welcome,

Cheers, Peter

Hi Geddy,

Following what sounds like your same logic, I did initially start with the Java 11 from the Oracle site. When I ran into this same issue after that install - the 'other' tools working but the ISY's launch not - I figured perhaps some configuration / registry pieces were missing that an experienced Java person would know but I didn't. As the Oracle Java 11 download site didn't have a *.msi file (as the machine in question is Windows 11 using a *.msi seemed the KISS answer ) available, I started again from scratch with the Azul implementation which did. 

In checking things just now I see that I've no default application listed against *.jnlp so that would seem to be the core issue, at least with the launcher. Manually assigning the Azul's java.exe or javaw.exe to it didn't help the issue.

Any other ideas welcome. I'm sure this will be obvious in retrospect after I've resolved it.

Thanks, Peter