Unstable communications

vandede

I've been using Insteon 2413s PLM / Isy99Pro for 3 years successfully with 15 devices. I run v3.1.4.

1 week ago everything became unstable, with no apparent reason. I no longer get current state for all the devices and can't communicate with 1/2 the devices. I don't know where to start because we use iPads / iPhones (MobiLinc Pro - I shut them all down in case they were hanging up the system), haven't changed anything in the electrical system to cause "noise", the PLM and Isy99 tables appear to be in synch, nothing unusual in the logs, etc.

I did get a message the PLM started in safe mode, but the PLM links table appears to be ok. I can get to some devices inconsistently but it takes a minute for them to react.

I've rebooted everything to no avail. Should I restore (with factory reset) the PLM? Or restore the Isy with a previous backup? Or buy a new PLM?

Thoughts? I love Insteon and the Isy but trouble shooting is painful and time consuming.

I appreciate your insights.

Hello vandede,

I am so very sorry to hear.

Whatever you do please do NOT factory reset ISY as it will not solve communications issues. The first thing I recommend is to unplug your Thermostats if you have any. If you do not have thermostats, then I suggest getting a replacement for your PLM and see if you can communicate with your devices.

Also, it's usually a device (especially a transformer or power supply) that may have gone bad. So, as a test, you might want to move your PLM to a new location and see if that helps. And, finally, you might have a defective Access Point which used to bridge your phases but it no longer does.

With kind regards,

Michele

Michel - appreciate your response. Unfortunately your recommendation for trouble shooting is just buy replacement devices and then "trial and error". All very time consuming.

Are you referring to a bad Insteon device with a bad transformer or power supply?