CoffeePot left on emails me only once.

Exten

My thinking is hosed and I don't know where, and I'm very new to programming

on Mister ISY. :)

I have my coffeepot plugged into an ApplianceLinc Outdoor 2456S3E.

5111 Rev 2.1 if it matters. It is 3 days old, it's brand new.

When I turn on the coffeepot via MobiLinc I do get an email so that part works well.

But I want an email as long as the coffeepot remains on.

I want a reminder when I am at work if I accidentally left the coffeepot on.

So do I need to place the program in a scene...or a folder...or what is the strategy

to get a continual notification? Is there a link to a how-to?

Gimme the boot in the right direction!

After I get the continual notification part working I'll lock it down

with a condition something like....

If it's betweem 8Am and 10AM Mon-Fri. then send the emails every minute.

Thx gurus :)

Hello Exten,

The main hint for you is that Wait and Repeat can be interrupted. This means that if you have a Wait statement and if the condition turns to false, then the Wait is interrupted and the program exists.

So, you might want something like this:

If
[Your time condition]
And Status Coffee Pot is not Off 
Then
Repeat Every Minute
  Send Notification to xx content yy

With kind regards,

Michel

Hi Michel...very kool...much much better than my half baked thinking.

Well, how about this...

Seems like it's best to assume that a power outage will occur when

I have left the coffeepot on and I am already at work when the outage happens.

Of course, all the insteon devices as well as Mr. ISY994 will lose power.

Will the logic in your example not get fooled?

If I'm reading it right it looks like your logic won't get fooled by a power outage.

Any other tips about which logic conditions to shy away from?

Seems like I should not use any logic that depends on power being present.

Should I always test for NOT a condition as opposed to explicitly testing FOR a condition?