What am I missing on using "Control" in program?

jmesberg

I'm fairly new at this but so far all of my programs have been working as I expected and I've found the ISY programming model to be very easy to understand and use. So, here is my first failure: I'm using a KPL button to "arm" an alarm, i.e. basically just switching a variable from 0 to 1 to indicate "Armed".

Here it is:

If

Control 'Keypads / KPL2-Arm Alarm' is switched On

Then

$AlarmArmed = 1

Else

$AlarmArmed = 0

Since I used Control vs Status I assumed that anytime the KPL button is "On" then the variable $AlarmArmed would be 1, and vice versa. Here is what actually happens: With Variable manually set to 0 I push KPL button => variable is now set to 1. All good. Now I push KPL button "Off" and while I'd expect Variable to then set back to 0 it does not....stays at 1.

Huh? Should I go back to using Status? If so, please explain why.

John

No. If Control command must match the inbound command to trigger the Program. Without an If Control Off the Program is not triggered. To get the Else clause to run the If must evaluate to False. To achieve both conditions, match the command and be False add a not.

If Control 'xxxx' is switched On

or Control 'xxxx' is not switched Off

Then

runs when On is received

Else

runs when Off is received.

Controls works a little differently than Status. Any Status change triggers the Program. Control must match the command for the Program to be triggered.

Worked perfectly. I think I can get my head around this logic, but frankly it might be better if ISY just 'assumed' that if Control <> ON then evaluate program checking to see if Control = ON to False. What would be the downside of UDI making this change? (I'm sure there is a downside....and by learning it I'll better understand the system).

John