telnet scripting from ISY994i Network Resources

Tom73

Hi. I am rather new to the ISY. I upgraded to pro, added the ISY Portal, and I even have one of my spoken Amazon Tap commands sending to the MakerChannel which sends an API call to my Squeezebox server to play a song. It does feel a bit like the scene from The Big Bang Theory.  Having a lot of fun with it.

I'm trying to power on (and off) some Dell R710 servers.  The hardware predates Dell's use of their Redfish API.  I've enabled telnet access into my iDRAC6  (ethernet based control interface, telnet, ssh, 80 and 443 available).  If I telnet there, it takes just 4 responses to turn on..... user, password, racadm  (which enables the command set) and then the command "racadm serveraction powercycle"  and I'm in business.

In Network Resources, I've set my script for TCP 23, and I set the timeout to 5000 ms, just so I can see how it's pacing itself.  I've tried raw and C Escaped, and on new lines, as well as \r, \r\n and \n\r and even \n, and it's never very different.  The response window opens and for a very long time (5 seconds I'd say, smiling) there's nothing at all --- so I'm getting stuff BECAUSE of the timeout --- and I get some odd characters, some squares, like this >>  ??[]??[]??!??[]      and then, right away (with no spaces) is my username, new line, password, new line, racadm, new line, and then exit. (Gotta prove I can stand before I can walk.)  and THEN the banner and text from the iDRAC6 which I would expect "idrac-9MVZKM1 login: Password:"  << note that it shows login and password at the end! after the 5 seconds have elapsed.

Anyone have an idea for me?  I think if I could insert a delay in the string, I might be able to make it more healthy.... like....

/d/d/d/d  username /r/n  password /r/n  /d/d/d/d /r/n racadm /r/n /d/d racadm serveraction powercycle /r/n