NodeServer in ISY Portal

danny07

Hi,

I'm new to the ISY Portal and Network Resources and I've been playing around with these for these last few days (Alexa, communicating with other devices through the web, etc.). I also really like the idea of the NodeServers, so that I can integrate other devices (such as LIFX) without having to troubleshoot each device's API on my own.

The only downside for me of the NodeServers is that it needs secondary device, a Raspberry Pi, which I don't have (and would prefer not to have at this point). Is this a requirement or can the ISY Portal (or any other solution) be used as the device to run and host these NodeServers?

Thanks!

Currently just the Occupancy node server. This is still a work-in-progress.

However, there are several ways to run nodeservers on your local network to add support to your ISY for devices without the need for an RPi. Checkout Nodelink - I believe it can be run on a number of platforms. I believe Polyglot also supports any platform with the required dependencies, and has pre-compiled binaries for a number of OSes. An RPi is an inexpensive investment, and once setup is very reliable. You can also run Polyglot and Nodelink side-by-side on a $35 RPi to get the broadest third-party device support.

Thanks Goose66!

I saw that NodeLink can we run on several OS but, if I'm reading it correctly, Polyglot can only run on the RPi.

Most of the NodeServers that I'm interested in are on Polyglot so I guess I might have to start researching RPi and consider getting one.

36 minutes ago, danny07 said:

Thanks Goose66!

I saw that NodeLink can we run on several OS but, if I'm reading it correctly, Polyglot can only run on the RPi.

Most of the NodeServers that I'm interested in are on Polyglot so I guess I might have to start researching RPi and consider getting one.