Newbie - Keypad and X-10 switch on/off

Complete newbie question – my apologies in advance:  I have installed the 8 pad keypad to be used as a controller, i.e. I did not wire in a load/ light.  I am starting with virtually all X-10 devices except for two recently added Insteon switches.  I am trying to use keypad “E” to toggle X-10 switch (address A1) to turn light on when first pushed and off when pushed again.

I changed the name of the keypad to Control Panel. Using the X-10 module, I added the switch with X-10 address.  I changed the name of “E” on keypad to Nook and created the following program:

IF Control “control panel” Nook is switched off

Then Send X10  ‘A1/on (3)’

Else Send X10  ‘A1/off (11)’

Of course, this does not work or I wouldn't be writing...  I have downloaded all the various assistance documents, read them, and still just can't seem to get what I'm doing wrong.  Any help or direction to additional help videos, sites, etc. would be most appreciated

It depends on what "does not work" means. For undesired behavior, the two previous posters covered it

• Other thoughts
    • You don't have to involve the ISY in this scenario, unless you will be integrating other things- Program the keypad button with the X10 address of the X10 modules. If you want, you can set multiple x10 modules to that same address and it will turn them all on/off at the same time. When the key is pressed, the command is sent right to the x10 modules. Not involving the ISY will give you back a second or 2 of response time.

• Are you sure the x10 signal is making it to / from the PLM? The PLM is known to be a weaker transmitter than other x10 transceivers like the TW523 or ACT TI 103 controllers

Paul

I'll present my program for an 'old' X10 switch I still have installed to control my pool light. Perhaps this will help the OP. I don't remember why I did it this way, but it works ?. (Maybe it's overkill.)