Push Variable from Pi to ISY994

LarryCRetired

Hoping someone can give me some direction as to where to look or even if it is possible to accomplish what I describe below.

I recently installed Version 5 and I have been reading/watching the excellent videos on how to install Polygot onto my pi and create a node server in the ISY.  However, being a newbie, I am not certain if the node server route is the way I should approach pushing a variable from the pi to the ISY.  I want to start a program in the ISY if the variable meets the appropriate criteria. 

This is what I am trying to accomplish. 

I have written a Python 3 program to obtain barometric pressure data from a BMP180 pressure sensor.  My wife suffers from migraines and barometric pressure changes impact the severity of her headaches.  The severity of the headache is a function of the starting point of the pressure when the pressure begins to drop and how fast the pressure is dropping.  I was able to use an Arduino to light some LED's based on some complex programming but the Arduino does not give me the flexibility of letting her know what is happening if she is not at home.

Medication does help her reduce the severity if she is aware of the weather environment prior to the beginning of the headache.

What I would like to do is push a variable from the pi to the ISY and then let it send a text message to make her aware that the barometric  pressure is changing and how aggressive she should be in taking her medication.

Any help and direction as to where to educate myself would be appreciated and even more so by my wife.

PS:  I have thought about using the climate module but unfortunately I have not had good luck getting reliable barometric data for my location. 

You can do this easily using the REST interface of your ISY and the utility 'curl'.  Try something like this:

curl -u USER:PASSWORD http://192.168.x.xx/rest/vars/set/1/3/16