Home Assistant Yellow Experiences

stevehoyt

@asbril

Hi again. After much waiting, it looks like my home assistant yellow will be arriving toward the end of the month. 

I have been running HA now for 6+ months on a PC along with google backups.

I don't anticipate any issues moving over to the yellow, based on other earlier thread discussions.

I just thought I would checkin with you, and see what your impressions were after running  it for a number of months.

Thanks

Steve

Hi there, it has generally been rock solid, using both Zwave and Zigbee.  There have been 3 or 4 times that Zwave did not respond and I resolved that by power cycling the Yellow Box and  removing the Zooz 800 dongle for a few seconds.

In fact, I put the Yellow Box on a  Kasa Wifi plug which allows me to power cycle it when I am not at home,  through the Kasa App on my Iphone.

BTW I use the Google Drive backup integration so that I always have 2 backup locations in case anything goes wrong and I do daily backups.

Lastly, though not an absolute need, I added a ssd in the Yellow Box to future proof the memory.

Edited by asbril

@asbril Good to hear that all has gone well and you like it. I am not using zwave or ziggbee so that won't be an issue for me.

I ordered a ssd along with it too.

So if I understand it correctly, you run the OS and user data on the main memory and in addition to the google backups also backup to the SSD?

I had heard somewhere I should move my user data to the ssd.

If you can, would you let me know what you think the preferred config might be.

Thanks

Steve

I've had one for about 6 weeks now.  I bought the POE version, and a fully loaded CM4 (8G 32G WiFi) off of eBay.  When it came in I bought a 1 TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD, installed both, and followed the setup instructions.  At step 9 I installed it all on the SSD.  One reason I did this is so I can remove it, install it in a USB adapter, and edit files on another machine - not that I've done that, but I can.