Different Light Bulb Types and Impact on INSTEON

Michel Kohanim

• 3 weeks later...

Just recently had to replace two outdoor CFLs with Halogen. Couldn't communicate with either SWL, tried new CFLs but after hours of on time started producing too much noise. I think this had to do with the weather here in Houston, either the temp or humidity but everything had run great since I installed the devices mid April. These were FEIT 60w equiv. and I don't know how other brands would work but I'll be glad to see Insteon compatible CFLs or inexpensive 60w equiv. LEDs.

• 1 month later...

This is not a rant, and I like using Insteon devices.

I'm an electrician and Insteon installer. I find when calling Smarthome for technical support regarding Insteon devices, one of the first questions asked is always what type of bulb am I using. It seems to me that there are more incompatible light bulbs than not.

In today's world of Title-24 regulations and energy conservation, it's not only neglectful but irresponsible on Smarthome's behalf that their controllers aren't more compatible.

I typically do full Insteon installations and emphasize scene capabilities. Most of the homes I work on use a variety of lighting types, but predominantly low-voltage. When I directly ask Smarthome if their dimmers are compatible, they always sidestep and tell me that they "usually" work.

When I had problems with Insteon timer switches used in bathrooms, tech support asked if I was controlling CFL bulbs. In California we're all but required to use CFLs, either that or some other form of high-efficacy lighting. How is Insteon planning to deal with LED lighting?

I think Insteon needs to show more concern for bulb compatibility, current lighting regulations and trends so their products will remain (become) applicable in near future.

Hello jerlands,

I apparently missed your post originally - my apologies.