Yesterday at 02:16 PM1 day With the New UI, there are two screens that show memory related information. Can someone explain what they mean as they dont seem to be consistent with each other? The boot environment says the current version is using 12.6G of memory. Memory usage says that 7.4 of 7.7. is being used --> I assume this is RAM?But then it says storage is only 5.9 gb... The unused boot (not shown is 5.3 gb)... is this the storage? Then where is the 12.6? Thanks,
Yesterday at 02:47 PM1 day @dbwarner5 ,You seem to have two partitions. One for storage and one for OS.Regardless, the way ZFS works is a little different. So, Disk Usage in the Active environment also includes the one in the inactive. So, if you want accurate information, it's best to remove the inactive boot environment.With king regards,Michel
Yesterday at 02:55 PM1 day Author Having two partitions is part of the new design if I understood it correctly, providing a way back in the event of a bad update?As I continue to prove out the new 14.4 system, I will soon delete the original 14.3 inactive boot...thanks and great improvements!
Yesterday at 03:01 PM1 day @dbwarner5 ,No! You literally have two disk partitions one of which is called "storage". Boot Environments are not disk partitions. They are ZFS boot environments on the same disk partition.With kind regards,Michel
Yesterday at 03:20 PM1 day 15 minutes ago, Michel Kohanim said:@dbwarner5 ,No! You literally have two disk partitions one of which is called "storage". Boot Environments are not disk partitions. They are ZFS boot environments on the same disk partition.With kind regards,MichelOk, but is the general idea that after you confirm that the new one has working fine for a while, you can delete the inactive one? Will a new update further down the line then made the current one an inactive one, offering a recovery path again? It's a great feature, making updates less do or die.
Yesterday at 03:23 PM1 day @Guy Lavoie ,Yes, you can remove the inactive one , and it's really best if you doIf you don't, future upgrades use the inactive one as the clone and make your active one inactiveWith kind regards,Michel
Yesterday at 03:50 PM1 day @Michel Kohanim Thanks.That brings up another question: if an update did in fact really mess things up and it's bad enough that eisy-ui can't be accessed, how could we manually switch to the inactive boot environment from the command line (by hooking up a screen and keyboard)?
Yesterday at 04:19 PM1 day @Guy Lavoie ,That's the beauty!!! Upgrade is done on the clone - not on the live system. So, if the upgrade is really screwed up, there are two cases:Upgrade fails in which case you never reboot into the clone (you stay on the live system). And even if you reboot, you will stay on whatever you started withUpgrade somehow succeeds (unlikely), you reboot into the clone, and you cannot access eisy-ui, then you will use:sudo ud_pkg_mgr toggle_boot_env --> which allows you to toggle to the other envWith kind regards,Michel
Yesterday at 04:25 PM1 day 3 minutes ago, Michel Kohanim said:@Guy Lavoie ,Upgrade somehow succeeds (unlikely), you reboot into the clone, and you cannot access eisy-ui, then you will use:sudo ud_pkg_mgr toggle_boot_env --> which allows you to toggle to the other envBingo, exactly what I needed to know! Added to my (ever growing) notes!
Create an account or sign in to comment