Automater Air Vents that work with ISY

ulrick65

Anyone ever used any automated air vents that will work with ISY somehow?

I am looking to do a poor man's zoning of my forced air heat/cooling system.  I have a relatively small house (1700 square feet) but a full finished basement...so want to be able to direct the air and heat a little better without spending a boatload of money on zoning.

Something like this:  https://flair.co/products/vent

It may not be that much cheaper then actually zoning, I have just started looking  into it.  I can do either task myself...but my background is Electrical and Mechanical Engineering and Maintenance.  I can fix about anything electrical or mechanical...but two things I really suck at are dealing with sheetmetal and wood....I am just not handy that way so I was hoping to stay away from cutting into my main duct system.

Thoughts?

Edit:  I have read enough in the last hour to come to the conclusion that these things are too much money in order to do it right.  I already knew you had to control CFM of airflow at all times and many of these systems don't.  Not to mention they seem to be pretty darn expensive. If anyone has experience with them would be good to share, but I think I will just go ahead and zone my system my self.  Any HVAC guys out there that can give me any pointers on air balance dampers or how to integrate the controls into my automation system (ISY) I would love to hear from you.

Thanks.

It sounds like you may have decided against these, but there are two nodeservers of the ISY that can manage Flair vents: one Polyglot nodeserver, and NodeLink.  I don't use these, so I can't say anything about them other than to make you aware that there are options.