Insteon SWL burned out, where to go now?

andrew77

Hi guys,

With Insteon maybe coming back (I'm not sure if they'll resume making their KPLs and SWLSs) I'm unclear what to do next.

I have an ISY994i and all my devices are Insteon. I just had a SWL go down.

I'm not sure what the best replacement is for it (I've read about Z-Wave etc but I have no experience with it) 

Also I don't believe I can run Z-Wave 700 series? And I don't think I could purchase 500 series devices.

Just looking for some thoughts and guidance as to where all this is headed now. I assume I'm not the only one in this dilemma.

Any thoughts would be great.

(If this isnt the proper forum for this question I apologize)

Drew

@andrew77 I've moved this to the "Coffee Shop" area as it's kind of a "what product to I buy next" rather than trying to get help with something. 

There are tons of threads here asking similar questions. I'd suggest you take time to look around this area and find that it's mostly up to user preference and need. 

Most of the threads would be back around the April/May time soon after Insteon turned off the lights. 

If you've just had one device go bad you could consider a repair option. Or buying parts if you have the ability/skill to repair yourself.

On 9/20/2022 at 11:00 AM, Geddy said:

@andrew77 I've moved this to the "Coffee Shop" area as it's kind of a "what product to I buy next" rather than trying to get help with something. 

There are tons of threads here asking similar questions. I'd suggest you take time to look around this area and find that it's mostly up to user preference and need. 

Most of the threads would be back around the April/May time soon after Insteon turned off the lights. 

If you've just had one device go bad you could consider a repair option. Or buying parts if you have the ability/skill to repair yourself.

Thank you Geddy. I'll check out Coffee Shop👍

• Thanks 1