Looking for ideas to mount USB enclosure on a wall

firstone

On 1/8/2023 at 12:28 PM, firstone said:

They don't stick to drywall particularly well

You've got to slightly "clean" the drywall first. We have the command strips holding up picture frames and framed posters in various rooms and they work very well. We usually wipe with damp cloth of 409, allow it to dry for a bit (~1 hour), wipe with dry cloth (just to be sure), place 1 side (apply pressure for a few seconds), allow it to "be" for a few hours before applying what you're trying to hang. I think the 3M instructions actually suggest 24 hours, but that's bogus (IMO). 

Great suggestion @jec6613!

I took a slightly different approach with my 3D dongle holder. It needs some tweaking, as I am still learning how the drawing program works.

I wanted something that was enclosed, so there was no chance of the dongle coming free. I added a cutout at the bottom for a USB extension cable connector and for good measure I included a script on the front for additional air circulation.

Z-Matter Dongle Wall Holder v - Final.f3d v1.jpg

Z-Matter Dongle Wall Holder Bottom.png

• Thanks 1

Both of these look awesome. Except I've never touched 3d printer. But,

If you use extension case, female USB-A end is probably going to be almost as wide as the unit itself. The first one you can probably put on the side. Not sure if you can use second one.

Edit: Passive extension is much smaller but still something to be considered. Active could be pretty big.

Edited by firstone
16 minutes ago, firstone said:

If you use extension case, female USB-A end is probably going to be almost as wide as the unit itself. The first one you can probably put on the side. Not sure if you can use second one.

Edit: Passive extension is much smaller but still something to be considered. Active could be pretty big.

Already have the cable and there is plenty of room for the cable end.

Dimension perspective can be hard to gauge without a reference.