1 hour ago1 hr With the New UI, there are two screens that show memory related information. Can someone explain what they mean as they dont seem to be consistent with each other? The boot environment says the current version is using 12.6G of memory. Memory usage says that 7.4 of 7.7. is being used --> I assume this is RAM?But then it says storage is only 5.9 gb... The unused boot (not shown is 5.3 gb)... is this the storage? Then where is the 12.6? Thanks,
1 hour ago1 hr @dbwarner5 ,You seem to have two partitions. One for storage and one for OS.Regardless, the way ZFS works is a little different. So, Disk Usage in the Active environment also includes the one in the inactive. So, if you want accurate information, it's best to remove the inactive boot environment.With king regards,Michel
52 minutes ago52 min Author Having two partitions is part of the new design if I understood it correctly, providing a way back in the event of a bad update?As I continue to prove out the new 14.4 system, I will soon delete the original 14.3 inactive boot...thanks and great improvements!
46 minutes ago46 min @dbwarner5 ,No! You literally have two disk partitions one of which is called "storage". Boot Environments are not disk partitions. They are ZFS boot environments on the same disk partition.With kind regards,Michel
27 minutes ago27 min 15 minutes ago, Michel Kohanim said:@dbwarner5 ,No! You literally have two disk partitions one of which is called "storage". Boot Environments are not disk partitions. They are ZFS boot environments on the same disk partition.With kind regards,MichelOk, but is the general idea that after you confirm that the new one has working fine for a while, you can delete the inactive one? Will a new update further down the line then made the current one an inactive one, offering a recovery path again? It's a great feature, making updates less do or die.
24 minutes ago24 min @Guy Lavoie ,Yes, you can remove the inactive one , and it's really best if you doIf you don't, future upgrades use the inactive one as the clone and make your active one inactiveWith kind regards,Michel
Create an account or sign in to comment