How does one control the order programs run in ISY?

Good Morning Forum Members,

I have been programming computers for almost 50 years (I started in grade school), and have worked with a variety of different languages from Basic to Machine Code.  ISY is not like anything I have worked with in the past.  I showed it to a friend that does imbedded work it wasn't like anything he had worked with either.

ISY is very powerful, but takes some getting used to.  In a traditional programming language what ISY calls a "Program" would be called a statement.  Statements in a program run in the order they appear in the program (this is very over simplified).

I am working on adding programs to ISY to track the high and low temperature for the day by poling the outside temperature probe every XX minutes, then updating the high and low for the day (if needed). To do this, I need to make sure the poling of the outside temperature happens right before the updates to the high and low.

One way to do this would be to have the program that poles for the temperature set a state variable to 1 at the end of the program, then have the next program trigger on the state variable being 1, then it would change it to 2, then the next program triggers on 2, etc.,

Is there a better way to do this?

Thank you.

11 minutes ago, IT Solutions said:

I have been programming computers for almost 50 years (I started in grade school), and have worked with a variety of different languages from Basic to Machine Code.  ISY is not like anything I have worked with in the past.  I showed it to a friend that does imbedded work it wasn't like anything he had worked with either.

ISY is very powerful, but takes some getting used to.  In a traditional programming language what ISY calls a "Program" would be called a statement.  Statements in a program run in the order they appear in the program (this is very over simplified).