ISY default smtp server (offline?)

I posted this same question in the ISY/Insteon section of the forum which I now realize was a mistake. Hopefully this is the right place to post this kind of question.

I've been using the ISY "default" smtp server for many years, without any problems, to send outgoing mail notifications based on different ISY/ELK events. Yesterday (Dec 1st) the emails stopped at about 10:45am CT. When I tried the "test" email function in ISY it reports that the sever can't be found. I have some questions.

- Is the "default" smtp server a UDI server or something else?

- If it is a UDI server is it temporarily offline or is it gone for good?

- Are there recommendations for other smtp servers for outgoing mail that don't have a limit per day (like Google)?

Best Regards

Mike  

@MMAltair,

We have had a huge surge in our mail server traffic some of which was spam. We are trying to filter out the spam and reduce the workload. In the meantime, please create a dummy gmail account and follow the instructions here:

https://wiki.universal-devices.com/index.php?title=ISY994:Configure_Mail_Server_Settings#Configuring_gmail_Account

With kind regards,
Michel

Thanks Michael.

I was able to get connected to my internet provider's (Comcast) smtp server this morning for my primary ISY. I have a 2nd ISY at a vacation home that will have to wait until I can get there and make the same changes locally. The ISY email function with substitution variables is extremely useful for creating a "cloud" based log of events such as temperature excursions, power failures, sump pump failures, Ring doorbell events, ELK alarm system events, etc.  I typically get less than 25 emails a day from these 2 ISYs but in special cases it can exceed 100 which is the limit that Google allows on their free smtp server.

Best Regards

Mike

• 3 weeks later...