Questions about ISY994i MicroSD card

Wes Westhaver

I never paid much attention to the fact that the ISY994i had a MicroSD card but I've started to wonder what the life expectancy is of the MicroSD card. I've been employing Raspberry Pi's around my house for many years now and have learned that it is always a good idea to keep backups of their MicroSD cards in case one of them fails. The easiest way to do this is to make an image file (.IMG) of the entire MicroSD card.

Would this be a good backup technique for the MicroSD card in the ISY994i?

I know the ISY994i Admin Console has a "File / Backup ISY" option but making an image file of the whole MicroSD card seems like it would be a quicker way to restore the ISY994i to working order in the event of a MicroSD card failure since an image file contains everything on the MicroSD card including the formatting.

Thoughts?

@Wes WesthaverNot sure what the life of the SD card is. I've had my ISY since 2016 and haven't had any issues. I'm sure others have had it much longer without issues. As for having a spare...good idea to have, but the likelihood of buying one and losing it before you need it might be higher than just buying when needed. Just have to figure the cost of buying it now and hoping you know where you put it when needed rather than buying a new one if/when it goes bad. 

As for having a copy of the card...I don't think it's that easy. There is a process to follow to replace the card. It shouldn't take too long. The biggest part is having a recent backup of the system for when you get the new card installed and firmware installed to then restore the backup. 

Steps to replace the SD card are outlined in the Wiki.

Also, if you think that you're going to have a Polisy anytime in the near future then having a backup SD card for an ISY that won't be in use much longer isn't very wise (IMO). 

Recreating an SD card for a ISY994 is very simple.
Insert the card